NCM Day 7: Crafty People

As I get older, I seem to be surrounding myself with crafty people. Perhaps we are just drawn to each other. Could be that the further you get from school – high school, university, what-have-you – the more difficult it is to make real connections with people and make lasting friendships. I have noticed that all the ‘new’ friends I have made since leaving school have all been crafty, and even relationships with old friends have strengthened by bonding over crafty things.

My crafty friends inspire me. They make me strive to do better, to try new things, to experiement more with techniques. I have my friend Kim’s voice in my head when I scrapbook and order stamps – “would Kim use these?… What ‘bits’ would she use on this page?”. I have a hard time with embelishments and over the years she has inspired me to try new things and think outside the box for my pages. Staples? Why not!? Paper clips… heck yes! Paint your page to add some colour… of course! I love that she has driven me to improve my work. And it is not just with scrapbooking. She is one of the most talented, crafty people I know and definitely an inspiration for a lot of what I do.

One of the most wonderful things that has happened this month (yup… and we are only 7 days in!) is my baby group has just started a crafting group for us crafters! These women have been such a support this past year through my pregnancy and the first 6 months with H (gah… I can’t believe he is going to be 6 months old tomorrow) and now they are inspiring me to be a better crafter. I have a huge desire to start quilting, but it is scary. But with the support and knowledge of these women I believe I can do it. Everyday we are posting what we are working on, projects we’ve done or what we would like to do. We are sharing ideas and tips, asking questions and getting advice and answers. I am loving it. I am so happy to have them in my crafting community.

And then there is my husband. He is with me as my colourful language comes out when my cricut is driving me nuts, I make a mistake knitting or when my sewing machine takes a coffee break without telling me. He has a wonderful eye for detail and great advice when I just can’t seem to get a layout right or find the perfect colour scheme. And the best part – he’s a crafter too! He is always up for spending our evenings working on the craft floor, he suggests trips to Michaels, never complains about going to a fabric store, and appreciates how wonderful it is to knit with expensive yarn. He’s pretty spectacular.

I guess I just want to give a huge thank you to all the people who have inspired me to be a better crafter in my life. That is what National Craft Month is for… to me anyway. To craft, and to take time to appreciate those people in your life who help you do it!

Leave a Reply

